top of page

History of MACURH


In 1954, Iowa State University organized the Midwest Dormitory Conference to bring together various institutions to encourage the exchange of ideas and information between various residence hall student governments. The following year, as more institutions attended from outside of the Midwest, the forming organization changed to the Association of College & University Residence Halls (ACURH). By 1957, ACURH had a total of 13 member institutions across the U.S. 

In 1961, ACURH officially adopted two regions, the Midwest Affiliate of College & University Residence Halls (MACURH) and the Intermountain Affiliate of College & University Residence Halls. With the creation of regions, ACURH changed their name to the National Association of College & University Residence Halls (NACCURH).

Midwest Dormitory Conference Founding Institutions

1961 - MACURH hosted its first conference from October 12-14 at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. George Meyers, hosted at the University of Kansas, served as MACURH's first official President. 

1964 - The National Residence Hall Honorary was established as part of a funding grant for NACURH.


1968 - NACURH had member schools from all 50 states and numerous regions of Canada. At the MACURH annual conference, MACURH covered the states of Arkansas, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Nebraska, Oklahoma, as well as  Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, & Wisconsin. The later five states were officially split into a new region, creating the Great Lake Affiliate of College & University Residence Halls (GLACURH). Past MACURH President Jim Mayfield established the Southwest Atlantic Affiliate of College & University Residence Halls (SAACURH) and the NACURH Information Center (NIC) is created and hosted by Iowa State University.

1971 - NACURH is officially incorporated in the state of Oklahoma and NACURH establishes corporate contracts with Collegiate Projects, Inc. and SWANK to provide services to member institutions and become NACURH's first Corporate Partners.


1972 - NACURH's official logo and colors of blue and white are established. Regions adopt the role of Director and by 1973 establish an Associate Director role.

1974 - MACURH established the first Of the Month award, to later be adopted by each region of NACURH.

1980 - MACURH is split and established the Southwest Affiliate of College & University Residence Halls (SWACURH). 

1986 - MACURH begins to host two regional conferences hosted at Southwest Missouri State University and Kansas State University.

2001 - MACURH establishes new officer roles titles Regional Advisors (RAs), that would eventually transition to Regional Communications Coordinators (RCCs), and to today's Coordinating Officers (COs).

bottom of page